Posts Tagged ‘CCNP’

IT certifications have always been popular among IT pros to bag the right job or seek the right jump. With the economy back in green, IT jobs too are back. And with them the demand for IT certifications, which in recent times have become more vendor- and technology-specific. So, what are the IT certifications that will keep IT pros in demand or are useful for job/career opportunities going forward.

Here’s over to the top 10 hottest IT certifications that could be considered “hot” in the coming months… (I am providing a high level overview on this certifications, google them for more info…)

Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (Security)


Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) certification provides an individual skills in designing, implementing, and administering infrastructure for business solutions based on Windows Server 2003 and Microsoft Windows 2000 Server. Implementation responsibilities include installing, configuring and troubleshooting network systems.

To be certified on newer Microsoft technologies, such as Exchange Server 2010, Windows Server 2008, or SQL Server 2008, a prospective candidate should pursue the Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) certification. In case a student has done the MCSE on Windows Server 2003 certification, he can upgrade to the Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) and Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) on Windows Server 2008 certifications.

VMware Certified Professional (VCP)


With virtualization technology becoming hot, it is little surprising that VMware Certified Professional (VCP) programme is in demand. Research shows that enterprises often face lack of required expertise specific to virtualization. According to Forrester Consulting, proper skills for virtualisation-specific projects are difficult to attain and retain.

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)


Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) is a professional certification for Information technology audit professionals sponsored by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). Candidates for the certification must meet requirements set by ISACA.

The CISA certification is for pros seeking jobs in areas of IT auditing, security, and control. CISA tests are conducted once a year, in locations spread worldwide. Five years of verifiable experience in IS auditing, control or security is required to take the exam.

GIAC Security Audit Essentials (GSAE/GSEC)


GIAC Security Audit Essentials or GSAE is for pros planning to enter the information security industry who are tasked with auditing organization policy, procedure, risk, or policy conformance.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)


Certified Information Security Manager or CISM is a certification for information security managers awarded by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). To apply for the certification, an individual must have at least five years of information security experience with a minimum three years of information security management work experience in particular fields.

The certification aims to provide a common body of knowledge for information security management and includes material on broader issues such as how to govern information security as well as on practical issues such as developing and managing an information security programme as well as incidents.

Check Point Certified Security Expert (CCSE)


Designed for experienced security professionals, Check Point Certified Security Expert or CCSE certification is claimed to be one of the most respected vendor-specific security certification. CCSE is an advanced Core security certification built on CCSA NGX, confirming in-depth skills and expertise in managing and supporting Check Point products.

Proficiencies include configuring and managing VPN/FireWall as an Internet security solution and virtual private network (VPN), using encryption technologies to implement site-to-site and remote access VPNs, and configuring content security by enabling Java blocking and anti-virus checking.

Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA)


Another Check Point-specific certification, Check Point Certified Security Administrator or CCSA aims to validate a security administrator’s ability to maintain day-to-day operation of vendor’s security solutions and ensure secure access to information across the network. Proficiencies include creating and installing security policies, using logging and reporting features, and managing anti-spoofing, Network Address Translation (NAT), and OPSEC applications.

Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP)


Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP) is claimed to be an advanced level certification that measures the ability to secure any wireless network. A wide range of security topics focusing on the 802.11 wireless LAN technology are covered in the coursework and exam, which is vendor neutral.

The CWSP certification is awarded to candidates who pass the CWSP exam and who also hold the CWNA certification. The CWNA certification is a prerequisite to taking the CWSP exam. The certification covers a range of security areas including detecting attacks, wireless analysis, policy, monitoring and solutions.

GIAC Certified Intrusion Analyst (GCIA)


GIAC Certified Intrusion Analyst (GCIA) is an information security certification entity that specialises in technical and practical certification as well as new research in the form of its GIAC Gold program. SANS Institute founded the certification in 1999. GIAC provides vendor-neutral computer security certifications linked to the training courses provided by the SANS.

Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP)


Another vendor specific certification, Cisco Certified Network Professional or CCNP aims to validate the ability to plan, implement, verify and troubleshoot local and wide-area enterprise networks and work collaboratively with specialists on advanced security, voice, wireless and video solutions. To apply for CCNP certification a candidate must have at least one year of networking experience. The CCPN tests are conducted by Pearson VUE.

There are five levels of certification: Entry, Associate, Professional, Expert, and Architect, as well as seven different paths, Routing & Switching, Design, Network Security, Service Provider, Storage Networking, Voice, and Wireless.

Hope this help some of my tech readers, if you already have certified in either one of them or planning to get one or even something I missed, please leave a comment, on your thoughts or knowledge on this, so other can get helped out of it…

Have a great weekend….